DIY- Mexican Embroidery Top

I recently bought a fantastic top that was hand-made in Mexico and featured a gorgeous embroidered pattern (see above right). It was so playful and bright, making me wonder why I don’t have more clothes like that…So, I was inspired to do some embroidery on one of my plain tops in an attempt to colour-fy it. I decided to go with a very simple zig-zag pattern based on my unfortunate lack of experience and skill in embroidery:

So if you want to do the same, this is what you’ll need:

  1. Embroidery thread– choose 2 or more colours.
  2. Sewing needle with the hole wide enough for the embroidery thread.
  3. A plain top with a simple collar edge.
  4. Last but not least, scissors.

If you choose to stick with a simple design it should take no longer than a few hours to complete. The instructions are pretty straight forward from here. It’s just simple sewing, over and under, you’ll sort of need to figure it out for yourself but honestly it’s very simple- it was my first time sewing with embroidery thread and I think it turned out ok…

I really loved the end product! It made a plain top into something just a bit more fun and quirky. I think I might experiment more with embroidery now too.

One comment

Leave a Reply

