Life Drawing @ the Arthouse

I had my first encounter with a live model in my Painting elective this semester. It’s funny to think that staring at a naked person for 2 hrs can be considered educational. Even though that sounds sarcastic, I really do mean it… I learnt so much about analysing proportions, volumes, curves, and tone. Once you start abstracting the body to see it as volumes and surfaces, it becomes almost mesmerising (not sure how creepy that makes me sound). Anyway, I became quite addicted to the whole process.

So imagine how happy I was to find out that the Arthouse Hotel in Sydney held life drawing sessions for only $4 every Monday. I went for the first time just last week and it was extremely enjoyable, as well as a bit surreal (there were two models on two opposite corners of a restaurant, quite an odd site, and sight). Here were some of my sketches from the Arthouse:

Brett Whiteley also did some wonderful things with the human figure:

I also love Lucian Freud‘s impasto figures:

Leave a Reply

